• 2595-4038(office) / 2565-3778
  • panihatimahavidyalaya1976@gmail.com
Panihati College


NAAC ACCREDITED, Affiliated to West Bengal State University
Barasat Road, P.O.- Sodepur, Kolkata - 700110

About the Department

The Department of Political Science was established in 1976. In the initial phase Political Science was introduce as a part of the Higher Secondary curriculum.  B.A General degree course has been started in 1983 and the full-fledged Honours course from 1999 onwards. From 1983-2009 our college was affiliated to the University of Calcutta, but from 2009, the College came under the West Bengal State University. The Department has adopted Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) in the year of 2018. The faculty members of the department are always proposing for new developments beside the written syllabus. The topics being discussed ranges from current political affairs in India and the world. To make the all-round development of the students we have organised inter disciplinary classes, tutorial classes, student seminars, group discussions, debates, workshops, extension lectures etc. The initiative makes the curriculum more acceptable and the students can get a broader perspective of the current socio-political scenario. The students of our department have been preparing and displaying the annual Wall Magazine “Darpan".

Courses Offered

  • Three-year semester wise B.A. Honours (CBCS)
  • Three-year semester wise B.A. General (CBCS)


  • The Department of Political Science has a separate departmental library for the benefit of the students, and a significant number of books being added every year.
  • Informative lectures along with study materials, notes, previous year questions are provided to the students.

Vision and Mission

To empower the youth, especially belonging to the under-privileged sections of society, through quality education, in order to make them politically responsible and conscious citizens which will enable them to meet the challenges of the contemporary society in future.

Aim and Goal

  • To provide knowledge of political agencies & institutions.
  • To make students aware of current political, social and economic problems of the country.
  • To develop coherent analytical writing, effective communication and critical approach among the students to analyse the political problems of the country and the world.
  • To enhance research potential and possibility in the students.
  • To improve an alternative perspective on politics and other discipline outside the classroom boundary.
  • To develop the student understanding and personal value system about the world that, exist around them.
  • To expose the students especially the under-privileged ones to variety of academic and extra-academic activities, aimed at their overall development.


  • Well experienced, dedicated and diligent teaching faculty.
  • Hardworking, innovative & co-operative students.
  • Students & teachers’ friendly relations

Parent- teacher meetings are held in regular basis.

Dr. Sibsankar Bandyopadhyay
Qualification : M. A., Ph.D.
Designation :Associate Professor

Mr. Biswajit Prasad Hazam
Qualification : M. A., M.Phil.
Designation :Visiting Faculty
Area of Specialization : Comparative Politics, Political Sociology and Indian Politics

Mr. Sri. Debashis Sarkar
Qualification :M.A.
Designation :Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization : Indian Government and Politics, International Relations

Mrs. Arundhuti Dutta
Qualification :MA, B.Ed. PGDHRM
Designation :Visiting Faculty
Area of Specialization : International Law